The initials WPCS stands for the WELSH PONY & COB SOCIETY


Founded in 1901, the Welsh Pony & Cob Society is the largest of Britain’s Native Breed Societies

The Society’s membership is worldwide, reflecting the popularity and versatility of Welsh Ponies and Cobs

It is based in Lampeter,in the county of Ceredigion in west Wales

It is a registered charity and the Welsh Pony and Cob Society is governed by a board of 15 trustees, who are elected for a three year term of office by the Society Members

Trustees can stand for election for 2 terms of office (6 years in post) before being required to stand down for 3 years before re-election

The Welsh Stud Book contains registration details of four types of Welsh Ponies and Cobs

These types include the

*Section A Welsh Mountain Pony
*Section B Welsh Pony
*Section C Welsh Pony (Cob type)
*Section D Welsh Cob

Each Section, or type, has specific characteristics, but all retain the pony character, versatility and excellent temperament of the Welsh breeds

There is also a register for Welsh Part-bred animals, who must have a minimum proven 12.5% of Welsh blood in their parentage

One Of Several Welsh Ponies Grazing On Plumstone Mountain in Pembrokeshire

One Of Several Welsh Ponies Grazing On Plumstone Mountain in Pembrokeshire

Click The Photo To Enlarge

Our thanks to Emma for sharing her photos of the Welsh ponies on Plumstone Mountain near Haverfordwest in Pembrokeshire

Do you have photographs of Welsh ponies or cobs that are worth sharing? Why not upload them here, it will only take seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.